Club Championships

We currently run three club championship events, one each for air rifle, prone and 3 positions. Further smallbore events may be added, and as the fullbore side of the club is developed we may also look into Target Rifle, Match Rifle and 300m competitions.

Prone Rifle (Long Range)

The Prone championship the oldest of our internal competitions first introduced in 1988, and is held concurrent with two events at the NSRA Scottish Meeting. Scores from the squadded Non-Aggregate Dewar, which is shot on the opening weekend, and the Unsquadded Aggregate are combined to determine the winner of our only trophy. This choice of competition allows those who are unable to attend the full week of the Scottish to take part.

It is likely that we will also introduce an indoor championship, to reflect the number of our members who compete indoors during the winter, but pursue other activities during the summer months.

3 Positions Rifle (Short Range)

The 3 Positions championship was first run in 1990, and is shot indoors at 20 & 25 yards. It is held concurrently with the first stage of the NSRA Short Range 3P Championship (now reduced to one 3x20) and the SSRA Short Range 3P Championship (two 3x20 matches).

3 Positions Rifle (Long Range)

The 50m 3 Positions championship is new from 2001, and is being held concurrent with the NSRA British 3P Championship, which is open to male and female competitors.

Air Rifle

The Air Rifle is the newest of the events, first held in 1996, and is concurrent with the Scottish Championships which are run by the SSRA. The top score in the Open Aggregate part of the meeting is awarded the E U Alumni club championship.

Past Winners


 Prone (LR)

 3 Positions (SR)

 3 Positions (LR)


 1988  Cliff Ogle  N/A  N/A  N/A
 1989  Cliff Ogle  N/A  N/A  N/A
 1990  Cliff Ogle  Donald McIntosh  N/A  N/A
 1991  Bill Hamilton  Donald McIntosh  N/A  N/A
 1992  Cliff Ogle  Cliff Ogle  N/A  N/A
 1993  Cliff Ogle  Cliff Ogle  N/A  N/A
 1994  Cliff Ogle  Bill Murray  N/A  N/A
 1995  Donald McIntosh  Shirley McIntosh  N/A  N/A
 1996  Donald McIntosh  Donald McIntosh  N/A  Ronnie Sellar
 1997  Cliff Ogle  Donald McIntosh  N/A  Ronnie Sellar
 1998  Cliff Ogle  Shirley McIntosh  N/A  Shirley McIntosh
 1999  Cliff Ogle  Donald McIntosh  N/A  Donald McIntosh
 2000  Donald McIntosh  Martin Sinclair  N/A  Ronnie Sellar
 2001  Martin Sinclair  Donald McIntosh  Martin Sinclair  Donald McIntosh
2002      Martin Sinclair  
2003    Martin Sinclair